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Introduction
The 1937 Nevada State Legislature declared that “Economic insecurity
due to unemployment is a serious menace to the health, welfare, and morals of the
people of this state.” The Unemployment Compensation Law was enacted to
require the compulsory setting aside of financial reserves to provide temporary
partial replacement of income to unemployed workers.
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Financing

Benefits to unemployed workers are financed by a payroll tax on
employers; there is no deduction from an employee’s wages. Taxes collected
for this purpose are set aside in a trust fund that can be used only to pay benefits
tounemployed Nevada workers. State and federal laws prohibit the use of these
resources for any other purpose. Administrative funding to operate the state
program s provided by the Federal Unemployment Tax, through the United States
Department of Labor.
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Unemployment Benefits
Unlike welfare, entitlement to unemployment benefits is not based on
need. Eligibility and amount of weekly benefits are determined by an
individual’s earnings in previous employment, but cannot exceed 50 percent of
the average weekly wage of all Nevada workers. As a condition for receiving
benefits, an individual must be able to work, willing to accept suitable work, and
actively seeking work.
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Aid to the Business Community

The Unemployment Compensation Program serves as a safety net to the
business community and the entire economy of the state. Unemployment benefits
provide purchasing power during economic downturns, thereby reducing the
“snowball” effect of a recession. During periods of temporary closures and
reductions in work force, the program also serves to keep skilled workers in the
community available for employers who may need them. And, through the use of
variable tax rates, employers are provided an incentive to stabilize employment.
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Employment Service

Nevada JobConnect, a consortium of public, private, and nonprofit
employment, training, education, and rehabilitation providers, is responsible for the
oversightand provision of work force development services to both employers and
jobseekers. The Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitationisa
proud partner in the Nevada JobConnect system. For employers, the services
include recruiting, retention, training, and out-placement services, as well as labor
market statistics. The services are free to all Nevada employers. Nevada
JobConnect offices are located statewide. See Appendix C for the telephone
numbers or visit the department’s web site at <www.nvdetr.org>.
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Federal/State Partnership

Nevada is part of a nationwide unemployment insurance system
established in 1935 by the Federal Unemployment Tax Act. Although states are
left largely to operate their own programs, the act provides for oversight
responsibilities by the Secretary of Labor. The federal unemployment tax is
imposed on employers to provide administrative funds for operation of state
programs. However, to ensure that all states maintain an adequate unemployment
insurance system, the act also provides that the tax will be reduced by up to
90 percent if the employer participates in a state program approved by the
Secretary of Labor. Currently, the federal tax is 6.2 percent of each employee’s
wages, up to $7,000. By participating in the Nevada Unemployment
Compensation Program, the federal rate is reduced to 0.8 percent.
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CAUTION | Employers who fail to pay state unemployment taxes

when due will not receive the full reduction to their
Federal Unemployment Tax.

[ }
(g}

Administration

The Employment Security Division is managed by a full-time
administrator appointed by the Director of the Department of Employment,
Training and Rehabilitation. A nine-member Employment Security Council
serves as an advisory committee to the administrator. The council members are
appointed by the governor, with three representing employers, three
representing labor, and three representing the general public. Regular meetings
ofthe Employment Security Council may be held twice in each calendar year.
Special meetings, not to exceed six in a calendar year, may be held at the call
of'the chairman.
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Assistance for the Disabled
The Employment Security Division provides assistance for disabled
persons. If you are disabled or require assistance, please contact the particular
office prior to any visit to request special accommodations.
Those who are deaf, hard of hearing, or speech impaired may contact the
Employment Security Division at Relay Nevada 711 or (800) 326-6868.
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WHO MUST PAY?

Generally, any employing unit that has paid wages for employment in
Nevada of $225 or more during any calendar quarter must register with the
Employment Security Division, and pay taxes on those wages.

In general, an “employing unit” means any individual or type of
organization, including any partnership, association, trust, estate, joint-stock
company, insurance company, corporation, or areceiver or trustee in bankruptcy.

“Employment” means service, including service in interstate commerce,
performed for wages or under any contract of hire, written or oral, express or
implied.
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Are There Any Exclusions?
Under Nevada Unemployment Compensation Law, certain services are
specifically excluded from the definition of “employment.” The following services
are excluded:

Agricultural Labor, only if: NRS 612.090

A. Theemployer paid less than $20,000 in cash wages during
each calendar quarter of the current calendar year and the
preceding calendar year to persons employed in agricultural
labor; or

B. Employed fewer than 10 persons in agricultural labor for
some portion of the day for 20 days or more during the current
calendar year and the preceding calendar year.

NOTE: Incomputing the $20,000 limit, the value of room
and meals, or any other form of payment other than
cash, is not to be considered.



1. Ifanagricultural employer reaches the $20,000 or 10

- employee limit at any time during any quarter of the

CALTION | current or preceding calendar year, he is subject for
the entire year.

2. Ifanagricultural employer is subject to the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act, he is automatically subject
to state law.

Churches NRS 612.121

Service performed for a church or an association of churches, or an
organization which is operated primarily for religious purposes and which is
operated, supervised, controlled or principally supported by a church or
convention or association of churches.

Direct Sellers, only if: NRS 612.144

A. Thepersondirectly sells or solicits the sale of products, (the
term “product” means a tangible good or an intangible service,
or both) in person or by telephone: (1) on the basis of a
deposit, commission, purchase for resale or similar
arrangement specified by the administrator by regulation, if
products are to be resold to another person in his home or
place other than a retail store; or (2) to another person from
his home or place other than aretail store; and

B. The personreceives compensation or remuneration based on
his sales or the service he performs for customers rather than
for the number of hours worked; and

C. The person performs the service pursuant to a written
agreement with the person for whom the services are
performed which provides that he is not an employee for the
purposes of unemployment compensation.

Domestic Service NRS 612.095
Service performed in a private home or a college fraternity or sorority
unless the amount paid in cash wages is $1,000 or more during any calendar

5



quarter. Whenever the $1,000 limit is reached, all domestic service for that entire
calendar year and the following calendar year is subjectto the law. In computing
the $1,000 limit, the value of room and meals or any other form of payment other
than cashis excluded.

NOTE: Domestic service includes all service for a person
in the operation and maintenance of a private
household, local college club, or local chapter of a
college fraternity or sorority as distinguished from
service as an employee in the pursuit of an
employer’s trade, occupation, profession, or
vocation.

Family Services NRS 612.105

Service performed by an individual for his son, daughter, or spouse, and
service by achild under the age of 18 for his father or mother. This exclusion applies
to foster and step relationships, as well as natural and adoptive relationships.

NOTE: Service performed for a corporation (including a
subchapter “S” corporation) is notexcluded under
this provision. In the case of a partnership, the
exclusion applies only if a required family
relationship exists between the employee and each
of the partners.

Federal Employment or Other States NRS 612.110
Service in the employ of the United States Government, or any other state,
or their instrumentalities or political subdivisions.

Hospital Patients NRS 612.117
Service performed for a hospital by a patient of the hospital.

Ministers NRS 612.121

Service performed by a duly ordained, commissioned, or licensed minister
in the exercise of his ministry or by amember of areligious order in the exercise of
duties required by such order.



Newspaper Carriers NRS 612.130
Service performed by newspaper carriers if under the age of 18 years.

Nonprofit Organizations, only if: NRS 612.121

A. The organization is exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the
Internal Revenue Code; and

B. The organization did not employ four or more persons for
some portion of a day in each of 20 weeks during either the
current or preceding calendar year.

NOTE: The following services performed for nonprofit
organizations which meet the above conditions
are exempt:

* Service performed for a nonprofit organizationina
facility conducted for the purpose of carrying out a
program of rehabilitation for persons whose earning
capacity is impaired by age or physical or mental
deficiency or injury, or providing remunerative work
for persons who because of their impaired physical or
mental capacity cannot be readily absorbed in the
competitive labor market by a person receiving such
rehabilitation or remunerative work.

* Service performed as part of an unemployment work-
relief or work-training program assisted or financed in
whole or in part by any federal agency oran agency of
a state or political subdivision thereof, by a person
receiving such work-relief or work-training.

Real Estate Sales/Broker NRS 612.133
Service performed by a licensed real estate salesman or broker, if paid by
commissiononly.



State Government and Political Subdivisions NRS 612.115
The following services performed for the State of Nevada or any of'its
political subdivisions are exempt:

A. Service performed in a facility conducted for the purpose of
carrying out a program of rehabilitation for persons whose
earning capacity is impaired by age or physical or mental
deficiency or injury, or providing remunerative work for
persons who, because of their impaired physical or mental
capacity, cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor
market by a person receiving such rehabilitation or
remunerative work.

B. Service performed as part of an unemployment work-relief or
work-training program assisted or financed in whole or in part
by any federal agency or an agency of a state or political
subdivision thereof, by a person receiving such work-relief or
work-training.

C. Service performed by an inmate of a custodial or penal
institution.

D. Service performed on atemporary basis in case of fire, storm,
snow, earthquake, flood, or similar emergency.

E. Service performed as a member of the Nevada National
Guard or Nevada Air National Guard.

F. Service performed as an elected official, member of a
legislative body, or the judiciary.

G. Service performed in a major nontenured policy making or
advisory position, or a policy making or advisory position
which ordinarily does notrequire more than 8 hours per week.

Students NRS 612.118 and NRS 612.119
A. Service performed by a person who is enrolled in a full-time
program at a nonprofit or public educational institution, which

8



combines academic instruction with work experience, if so
certified by the institution.

B. Service performed for a school, college, or university by a
student who is enrolled and regularly attending classes.

C. Service performed in the employ of a school, college, or
university by the spouse of a student, if employed to provide
financial assistance to the student.

—,

Independent Contractors

Nevada Unemployment Compensation Law does not define “independent
contractor.” Ituses what is commonly referred to as the “ABC” test. This test is
unique to the Unemployment Compensation Program. Unless otherwise
specifically excluded, payment for personal services is deemed subject to
unemployment taxes unless the following conditions are met. All three conditions
must be met in fact; a written contract alone is not sufficient. The burden of proof
rests upon the employer to demonstrate the existence of these conditions:

A. Theperson hasbeen and will continue to be free from control
or direction over the performance of the services, both under
his contract of service and in fact; and

B. Theserviceiseither outside the usual course of the business for
which the service is performed or that the service is performed
outside of all the places of business of the enterprise for which
the service is performed; and

C. Theserviceis performed in the course of an independently
established trade, occupation, profession or business in which
the person is customarily engaged, of the same nature as that
involved in the contract of service.

If you cannot demonstrate the above conditions, the person is an
employee. A written contract, in itself, does not establish “independent
contractor” status. Ifin doubt, contact the Contributions Section for aruling.

9



= Many employers mistakenly believe they can avoid
SAUTION | taxes by “converting” their employees to
“independent contractors.” This can result in

substantial delinquent taxes, penalties and interest.

NOTE: Any agreement by a person to waive his rights to
benefits under Nevada Unemployment
Compensation Law is void. NRS 612.700

[ }
[garan}

Services Subject to the Federal
Unemployment Tax Act
In general, services excluded under state law are also excluded under
federal law. However, regardless of exclusion under any state statute, if services are
subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax Act, they are automatically subject to the
Nevada Unemployment Compensation Law.

[
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Employee Leasing Companies
By statute, an employee leasing company is deemed to be the employer of
employees it leases to client companies pursuant to a written or oral agreement. As
such, the leasing company has primary responsibility for submitting required
reports, payment of unemployment taxes, and responding to notices from the
Employment Security Division.

NOTE: If the leasing company fails to submit required
reports, or pay unemployment taxes when due, the
client company may be held liable for unpaid taxes,
forfeits, or interest attributable to the wages of the
employees it leases from the employee leasing
company. NRS 616B.691

10
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Common Paymasters

A “common paymaster” is a business entity that is treated as a single
employer of employees who are concurrently employed by a group of related
businesses.

Although some states permit reporting by acommon paymaster, Nevada
Unemployment Compensation Law does not recognize the common
paymaster. Wages must be reported, and contributions paid on wages up to the
taxable limit, by each employing unit for which services are performed. Each legal
entity is a separate employing unit.

U,
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Payrolling

“Payrolling” is the practice of designating one business entity to report
wages as the employer of individuals whose services are actually performed fora
separate business. This practice is distinguished from the common paymaster in that
the individuals generally perform services for only one of the businesses and are not
concurrently employed. Payrolling is not permitted under Nevada
Unemployment Compensation Law nor federal unemployment tax (FUTA)
law.

—,

Voluntary Election
Voluntary election of unemployment insurance coverage can be requested
for employing units exempt from coverage and for services excluded from
coverage. A written request should be mailed to the Employment Security
Division. Voluntary coverage is subject to the approval of the administrator. If
approved, the election of coverage will remain in effect for at least two calendar
years.

11
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Termination of Employer Liability

Generally, ifan employer has paid wages less than $225 in each of four
consecutive calendar quarters, his account with the Employment Security Division
is closed unless subjectivity is due to the Federal Unemployment Tax Act. Ifan
employer account has been terminated, the account may be reopened any time
within the next two years from the last reported payroll. For tax rate purposes, the
experience record will remain with the employer unless it has been transferred to
another account. For further information, see the section “How Much Are My
Taxes?” onpage 18.

I
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WHAT WAGES MUST BE REPORTED?

In general, all remuneration paid for personal
services is considered “wages” and must be reported
every quarter. Payments may be in the form of cash orany
form other than cash, such as meals, lodging, or
merchandise. Certain types of payments are often
mistakenly considered exempt by employers.

[ }
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Payments That ARE Wages
Bonuses
Bonuses are wages.
Cafeteria Plans

Employee salary reductions under a “Cafeteria Plan” (IRC Section 125)
are wages.

Casual Labor

Wages include payments to part-time employees, temporary employees,
and short-time workers. It makes no difference whether payment is on an hourly
basis, daily basis, or piecework basis.

Commissions
Commissions are wages. Advances against commissions are also wages
and must be reported when paid.

Corporate Officers

Salaries and other payments made to corporate officers for their services
to the corporation are wages. This includes officers of subchapter “S”
corporations, as well as regular corporations.

NOTE: Dividends paid to a corporate officer in lieu of a
reasonable salary for services performed are also
considered wages.

13



Meals and Lodging NAC 612.070

The value of meals and lodging provided to an employee are
wages, regardless of whether or not such form of payment is “for the convenience
ofthe employer.” Ifthe value of meals and lodging cannot be determined, the
following minimums will apply:

Full meals and lodging, weekly........ $ 60.00
Meals perweekK........ccooeveuverrenennene. $ 30.00
Mealsperday.........ccccoevveieviernennnns $ 4.50
Meals permeal..........ccoovvenveneenee. § 1.50
Lodging per month......................... $ 120.00
Lodging perweek..........ccooevevnennn. $ 30.00
Lodgingperday.........cccceveverrnnnnne. $ 5.00
Profit Sharing

Payments to employees in the form of profit sharing are wages.

Severance Pay

Severance pay, dismissal pay, and wages in lieu of notice are wages and
must be reported in the quarter in which the payment is actually made, regardless
of what period they are intended to cover.

Tips
Tips reported by employees for Internal Revenue Service purposes,
pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 6053(a) are wages.

NOTE: If a written agreement has been negotiated with
the Internal Revenue Service, the amount
reported pursuant to that agreement is the amount
that should be reported as wages.

Vacation Pay
Vacation pay is wages.

401k and Other Deferred Plans
Amounts deducted from the employee’s paycheck for 401k and other
deferred income plans are wages.

14
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Payments That ARE NOT Wages

Auto, Travel, and Other Business Expenses

Auto, travel, and other business expenses are not wages if they are paid
under an “accountable” plan. The employee must be able to substantiate the
expenses.

Earned Income Credit
Earned Income Credit payments are not wages.

Educational Assistance
Employer paid tuition or other educational expense is not wages, if it is job
related.

Life Insurance Premiums

Life insurance premiums paid by the employer, regardless of the amount of
insurance, are not wages if paid pursuant to a plan or system established for all
employees or certain classes of employees (such as salaried employees or officers).

Loans to Employees
Loans to employees are not wages if they are not part of the salary structure
and require a definite repayment schedule.

Moving Expenses

Moving expenses paid by the employer are not wages, if they are paid
under an “accountable” plan. The employee must be able to substantiate the
expenses.

Partners’ Draws
Partners’ draws are not wages. They are considered a division of profits.

Per Diem or Subsistence

Per diem or subsistence is not wages if it is made to an employee in addition
to his regular wages, and is paid to compensate the employee for expenses inherent
in the performance of services while away from the regular base of operations of
the employer and the employee.

15



Retirement and Pension Plan Payments

Payments by an employer to or on behalf of an employee or his dependents
toward retirement are not wages, if paid pursuant to a plan or system established
for all employees or classes of employees (such as salaried employees or officers).

Sick or Accident Disability Payments

Payments by an employer to or on behalf of an employee or his dependents
because of sickness or accident disability, or for medical or hospital expenses are
not wages if paid pursuant to a plan or system established for all employees or
certain classes of employees (such as salaried employees or officers).

NOTE: Ifthereis no established plan, and payment is at
the discretion of the owner, itis wages. Payment
to an employee for unused sick leave is wages.

Sole Proprietor’s Draw or Profit
Draws, salary, or profit ofa sole proprietor are not wages.

Tool and Equipment Rental
Payment for tool and equipment rental is not wages if paid under an

“accountable” plan. The employee must be able to substantiate the expenses.

401k Plans
The employer’s matching portion of a401k plan is not wages.

16
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Appeal Rights

You have the right to appeal any determination made by the division
regarding subjectivity to the law, excluded services, or wages, as well as anotice
ofthe filing of a claim. Uponrequest, the division will issue a written determination
which will include instructions for filing an appeal. If you believe the determination
isincorrect, you must appeal in writing within 11 days of the date of the mailing or
personal service of the notice.

Appeals are heard by an impartial Appeal Tribunal. Appeal hearings are
informal administrative proceedings which do not require representation by legal
counsel, but you may bring someone with you to represent or assist you. A written
decision will be made by the Appeal Tribunal. If you do notagree with the decision,
youmustappeal the decision in writing within 11 days of the date of the mailing of
the hearing decision. The next level of appeal is before the Board of Review.

The decision of the Board of Review becomes final 11 days after the date
of notification unless appealed in writing. If you do not agree with the Board of
Review decision, youmust, within 11 days after the decision has become final, begin
an action in the district court of the county where the employment was performed.
An appeal of the district court’s decision may to taken to the Supreme Court of
Nevada.

I
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HOW MUCH AREMY TAXES?

Employers starting a new business in Nevada
must pay unemployment insurance (U]) tax at a rate of
2.95 percent (0.0295) of wages paid to each employee up
to the taxable wage limit. The employer retains this rate for
aperiod of 14 to 17 calendar quarters (depending on the
quarter in which he becomes subject to the law), after
which his rate will be determined under the “Experience
Rating” system (see page 19). There is an additional
0.05 percent (0.0005) tax for the Career Enhancement
Program (see page 21).

(S }
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Taxable Wage Limit

The taxable wage limit is calculated each year at 66 2/3 percent of the
average annual wage paid to Nevada workers. Taxes are paid on an individual’s
wages up to the taxable wage limit during a calendar year. The taxable wage limit
for2008 is $25,400. Although total wages paid to each employee must be reported
to the division each quarter, any wages paid to an individual which exceed that
amount during the calendar year are not taxed. Registered employers are
automatically notified of changes to the taxable wage limit each year, and the amount
is preprinted on the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report
(form NUCS 4072).

Acquiring an Existing Business

Ifyou acquire an existing business, taxable wages paid by the previous
owner are considered as having been paid by the buyer. For example, assume that
the taxable wage limitis $25,400. The seller has already reported and paid taxes
on $15,000 for employee X. If you acquire the business and during the calendar
year pay that employee an additional $15,000, only $10,400 would be taxable.

Wages Paid in Other States

For purposes of taxable wage computation, wages paid to individual
employees in other states can also be carried over to Nevada if the employees are
transferred to Nevada and continue to work for the same employer.
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Experience Rating

Once an employer becomes eligible for “experience rating,” he will receive
one of 18 unemployment insurance (UI) tax rates, ranging from 0.25 percent to
5.40 percent of taxable wages. Each employer’s tax rate may vary from year to
year, depending on previous experience with unemployment and the rate schedule
in effect.

Nevada uses the “Reserve Ratio” formula to determine previous
experience, which is the method used by a majority of the states. The Employment
Security Division maintains a permanent “Experience Record” for each
employer, consisting of accumulated taxes paid, accumulated benefits charged to
his account, and average taxable payroll for the prior three years. (Also see page
50 foradiscussion of “benefit charges.”) Each year, the employer’s reserve ratio
is calculated from his experience record to determine his tax rate under the schedule
ineffect. Generally, the higher the reserve ratio, the lower the employer’s tax rate
willbe.

Reserve Ratio Formula

CONTRIBUTIONS PAID - BENEFITS CHARGED
AVERAGE TAXABLE PAYROLL, PRIOR3 YEARS

RESERVE RATIO
Example
$10,000 -$ 6.000 = .10, or 10.0% Reserve Ratio

$40,000

Asdisplayed in the table on the next page, the employer’s tax rate would
be 0.25 percent since the reserve ratio is at least 7.3 percent.
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How Tax Rates Are Determined

The administrator, by regulation, establishes a reserve ratio schedule to
apply to each of the tax rates for each calendar year. A meeting of the
Employment Security Council is held annually during October for the
purpose of advising the administrator on the selection of a schedule. The council
consists of nine members appointed by the governor, three representing labor,
three representing management, and three representing the general public. The
meeting is open to the public, and notice is given pursuant to the Nevada Open
Meeting Law. Following the council meeting, a public hearing is held to
consider the selection of the schedule, pursuant to the Nevada Administrative
Procedure Act. Following is an illustration of the tax rate schedule for 2008.

Reserve Ratio Tax Rate
At Least but Less than
(Percent) (Percent) (Percent)
......... -15.2 5.40
-152 .. -13.8 5.05
-13.8 ... -12.4 4.75
-124 ... -11.0 4.45
- 11.0.......... - 9.6 4.15
- 96 ... - 8.2 3.85
- 82 - 6.8 3.55
- 6.8 ... - 54 3.25
- 54 ... - 4.0 2.95
- 40 ... - 2.6 2.65
- 2.6 ... - 1.2 2.35
- 1.2 0.2 2.05
0.2 ......... 1.6 1.75
1.6 .......... 3.0 1.45
3.0.... 4.4 1.15
44 ... 5.8 0.85
5.8 . 7.2 0.55
7.2 . 0.25
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Termination of Experience Rating Account
Anemployer who closes his business may later reopen the account and
retain the same experience record. However, whenever an employer has paid
no wages for 8 consecutive calendar quarters, his experience rating account
will be terminated, and may not thereafter be used in any rate computation.

——ee—
Career Enhancement Program NRS 612.606
In addition to unemployment tax, each employer (except those whose rate
is 5.40 percent) is required to pay a tax of 0.05 percent (0.0005) of taxable wages
for the Career Enhancement Program (CEP). This is a separate state program
established to provide training to unemployed persons and persons employed in this
state to foster job creation, minimize unemployment cost for employers, and meet
the needs of employers for skilled workers. This tax cannot be credited against
your Federal Unemployment Tax on federal form 940.

[ )
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Tax Rate Notices

Each December, employers receive a Notice of Employer’s
Contribution Rate (form NUCS 4290 for new employers, and form NUCS
4291 for experience rated employers) advising of their tax rate for the following
calendar year. The notice includes accumulated taxes paid, benefits charged,
average taxable wages for the prior three years, and calculation of their
“reserveratio.” See Appendix B for samples of these notices.

Employers should examine their rate notices carefully. You have 15
days from the date of mailing to request areview. If you have any questions
regarding your rate notice, contact the Contributions Section, Rate Unit. See
Appendix C for the telephone number.
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———ee—
Notice of Benefit Charges

Each quarter, employers receive a Notice of Benefit Payments
Charged (form NUCS 4316), listing all benefits paid to former employees that
have been charged to their experience record. Employers need to examine these
notices carefully; you have 15 days to protest any charges you believe are in error.
Ifyou have any questions regarding benefits charged, contact the Unemployment
Benefits Section, Rulings Unit. See Appendix C for the telephone number.

[ }
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Self-Insurance or “Reimbursement” Option
for Nonprofit Organizations, Government Entities, and Indian Tribes

The law provides state and local government, certain nonprofitemployers
(those who are exemptunder Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code), and
Indian Tribes an option to pay quarterly taxes, or they may elect to be self-insured
under the “reimbursement’ method. Ifthe “reimbursement’ method is chosen, the
employer must file quarterly wage reports, but does not pay quarterly taxes
for unemployment insurance (UI), nor for the Career Enhancement Program
(CEP).

When choosing the “reimbursement” method, instead of paying quarterly
taxes, an employer must reimburse the state on a quarterly basis for all
unemployment benefits charged to his account. The Employment Security Division
administers all claims for reimbursement employers in the same manner as for tax
paying employers. Ifan employer elects the “reimbursement’” method, he cannot
change back to the taxing method for at least two calendar years, and must notify
the division no later than December 1, to be effective for the following calendar year.
Ifyou are interested in the “reimbursement” method, contact the Contributions
Section, Registration Unit. See Appendix C for the telephone number.

—,
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REGISTRATION

Each employing unit must register with the Employment Security Division
within 30 days after becoming subject to Nevada Unemployment Compensation
Law. Thisistrue whether you are starting anew business or purchasing an existing
one. Unless specifically excluded by statute, an employing unit becomes subject to
the law once $225 in wages has been paid in any calendar quarter.

[
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Starting a New Business

Registration of a new business can be done online at <https://
uitax.nvdetr.org> with immediate assignment of an Employer Account Number
upon completion of all necessary information. Online registration also addresses the
information necessary for agricultural employers, domestic service, and nonprofit
organizations, and therefore no supplemental form is necessary.

Registration can also be accomplished by completing a Nevada Business
Registration (NBR) form. Ifnotregistering online, for agricultural employers,
domestic service, and nonprofit organizations, a Supplemental Registration
Form (form NUCS 4058) must also be completed. Registration forms can be
submitted to any field audit office or mailed to the Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 8§9713-0030.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available online, or
youmay request copies from the Contributions Section. See Appendix C for the
telephone number for “Form Requests,” or request in writing as listed above.

Employer Account Number

Ifregistering online, an Employer Account Number will be immediately
provided, in most cases, upon completion of all the necessary information.
Registrations that are more complex (in terms of laws specific to a predecessor
account, voluntary election of coverage, or Indian Tribes, to name the most
common) require a “hold” of not more than 15 calendar days to allow time fora
review by adivision examiner. Youwillreceive notification in the mail regarding the
status of your registration, including your Employer Account Number.

In cases of registrations submitted on paper, the entire registration is
reviewed by a division examiner, which requires more time than an electronic
review. Youwill benotified by U.S. mail regarding the status of your registration.

Your Employer Account Number is specific to your business and cross-
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referenced to your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN). The
Employer Account Number will be on all notices youreceive from the Contributions
Section. Please include your Employer Account Number on all
correspondence and payments and reference the account number when
contacting the Contributions Section by telephone.

New Employer Kits

Upon successful registration of a new business, whether online or by
submitting a registration form, employers will be sent a start-up kit containing
important information regarding unemployment insurance (UI). The mailing
contains a “Notice of Liability,” arequired poster Notice to Employees (form
NUCS 4324) for the workplace, and a required notice Information for the
Unemployed Worker (form NUCS 4139) to be given to any employee who
becomes unemployed. Otheruseful information is also included.

The “Notice of Liability” is the legal determination, with appeal rights, that
you are subject to unemployment compensation law as a Nevada employer. The
notice should be kept for your records. It contains the date you became liable as
an employer, your Employer Account Number, your UI rate, and Career
Enhancement Program (CEP) rate.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The required poster and information
sheetare available at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or you may request copies from the
Contributions Section. See Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone
number for “Form Requests.”

Tax Rate

As a new business, your unemployment insurance tax rate will be
2.95 percent (0.0295) of taxable wages for a period ranging from 14 to 17 calendar
quarters. Thisrate willremain in effect until you become eligible for experience rating
(seepage 19). Inaddition, you must pay 0.05 percent (0.0005) of taxable wages
for the Career Enhancement Program (CEP).

[
N

Acquiring an Existing Business
When acquiring an existing business, you must register the “acquisition.”
You may register online or by completing a Nevada Business Registration
(NBR) form. When registering using the NBR form, a Supplemental
Registration Form (form NUCS 4058) must also be completed if the acquisition
is an agricultural employer, domestic service, or nonprofit organization.
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Registration forms can be submitted to any field audit office or mailed to the
Employment Security Division, Contributions Section, 500 East Third Street,
Carson City, Nevada 89713-0030.

Online registration can be accomplished at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org>.
Online registration of an acquisition addresses the information necessary for
agricultural employers, domestic service, and nonprofit organizations; therefore, no
supplemental form is necessary.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or copies can be requested from the Contributions
Section. See Appendix C for the telephone number for “Form Requests,” or write
the Employment Security Division as listed above.

Tax Rate

Upon registering the acquisition, the Employment Security Division will
determine whether you are subject to amandatory transfer of experience record or
ifyouare eligible for a voluntary transfer and advise you accordingly. Ifatransfer
isnotmandatory, the division will send you a Notice of Eligibility/Application for
Transfer of Experience Record (form NUCS 4460). In the case of a voluntary
transfer, you may either pay unemployment insurance (UI) taxes at the new
employerrate of 2.95 percent (0.0295) of taxable wages for a period ranging from
14 to 17 calendar quarters (the same rate as a new business), or apply to transfer
all or part of the experience record from the previous owner and pay at a tax rate
based on the experience record of the previous owner. A voluntary transfer
requires the mutual written consent of the buyer and seller.

NOTE: Ifyouintend to transfer the experience record of
the previous owner, you must notify the division in
writing within 90 days of acquisition.

Mandatory Transfer of Experience Record

Whenever there is substantially common ownership, management, or
control between two or more employers and one of the employers transfers all or
part of its business (which may include work force) to the other, a mandatory
transfer of experience record is required. In cases of a mandatory transfer, the
employer will be sent a “Notice of Mandatory Transfer of Experience Record.”
The notice is the legal determination, with appeal rights, of being subject to the
unemployment compensation law as a Nevada employer and that a mandatory
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transfer of experience record was required. The notice should be kept for your
records. It contains the date you became liable as an employer, your Employer
Account Number, your unemployment insurance rate, and Career Enhancement
Program rate.

Voluntary Transfer of Experience Record

A voluntary transfer of all or part of the experience record is possible when
an acquisition occurs between unrelated businesses. To apply for a transfer, the
Notice of Eligibility/Application for Transfer of Experience Record (form
NUCS 4460) sent to you by the division mustbe completed, signed by both the new
and previous owners, and returned to the Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section. The transfer must be received by the division within one
year of the issue date indicated on the application.

Until the division completes the transfer of the experience record, your
unemployment insurance (UI) rate will be 2.95 percent (0.0295) of taxable wages.
Ifthisresults in an overpayment, your account will be credited or you may request
arefund.

Prohibited Transfer of Experience Record

Transfers of experience records are prohibited when the sole or primary
purpose of the acquisition is to obtain a more favorable contribution rate. This
practice is amanipulation of the experience rating system.

SUTA Dumping

SUTA is the acronym for the State Unemployment Tax Act. SUTA
Dumping is any tax evasion scheme designed to manipulate the unemployment
insurance experience rating system in an effort to avoid paying taxes.

Federal legislation in 2004 mandated that all states address this
unemployment insurance (UI) rate issue in state legislation. Nevada laws are now
inplace to ensure the integrity of the experience rating system and protect the assets
ofNevada’s Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.
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Nevada law, effective January 1, 2006, established civil and criminal
penalties associated with SUTA Dumping, for employers, as well as those advising
employers. The penalties for SUTA Dumping include in part:

* Assignment of the maximum Ul contribution rate of
5.40 percent plus 2 percent for each year of
manipulation, the currentrate year, and the subsequent
rate year.

* Civil penalty of $5,000 or 10 percent of the total amount
of any resulting under-reporting of contributions and any
other penalties and interest.

* SUTA Dumping is a class C felony, punishable by a
sentence of 1 to 5 years.

Liability for Taxes of Previous Owner

If you purchase an existing business, you may be held liable for any
unpaid taxes, forfeits, and interest previously incurred by the seller. Such debts are
subject to the same legal action available against the seller, including summary
judgment, which constitutes a lien on all real and personal property, and attachment
of assets.

The law provides that the buyer must withhold sufficient purchase money
to cover the amount of taxes due from the seller until the division certifies that they
have been paid. Upon written request, a letter of clearance will be issued to the
previous owner. Requests should be mailed to the Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 8§9713-0030.
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Changein Entity Type

In most cases, if your business changes entity types, a new registration is
required. Examples of such changes are: sole proprietor to a corporation, (this is
true whether itis a “regular” corporation or a subchapter “S” corporation), adding
or dropping partners in a General or Limited Partnership, and any type of a
corporation to a Limited Liability Company (LLC). Registration can be
accomplished online at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or by submitting a Nevada
Business Registration (NBR) form to the Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section. See “Registration” on page 23.
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Selling Your Business or Change in Ownership
Ifyou sell your business or change ownership, such as dropping or adding
apartner, youmustimmediately notify the divisionin writing. Also, within ten days
ofthe sale or change in ownership/partners, you must file any outstanding quarterly
reports and pay any contributions, forfeits, or interest due.

o=,
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Employer Agents
As a Nevada employer, you may appoint an agent to represent your
business in allunemployment compensation matters.

Power of Attorney Required
Nevada Unemployment Compensation Law prohibits disclosure of
employer information to any other person or the general public. Therefore, in order
to discuss your business with a designated agent (or for your agent to be able to
access your online account), the division must have on file a current and complete
Power of Attorney (form NUCS 4556) or an approved substitute form.
See Appendix B for samples of forms. The form is available at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request a copy from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”
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M e

Disclosure of Information

Except for specified exceptions, information provided by any employing
unit is confidential, and may not be disclosed or be open to public inspection in any
manner that would reveal the employing unit’s identity.

Improper disclosure by division employees is subject to misdemeanor
charges. Therefore, employees are very careful, when discussing employer
information, to verify that they are speaking to the employer or an authorized
representative, as established by a Power of Attorney.

Employees are instructed not to give specific employer information either
over the telephone or by fax, unless they are certain of the identity of the employer.

NOTE: Unemployment compensation information may be requested and
utilized for other governmental purposes, including, but not limited to, verification
ofanindividual’s eligibility for other governmental programs.

28



RECORD KEEPING AND REPORTS

Each employer is required to keep true and
accurate work records for each worker. The records must be
kept for at least four years, and must show:

* The beginning and ending date of each payroll period.

* The total wages payable for the payroll period and the date paid.

* The worker’s name, SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER, and rate of pay.
* The date the worker was hired.

* The date the worker was separated from employment.

* The reason for separation from employment.

* The dates the employee worked.

* The state or states in which services were performed.

Separate entries must be made to record money wages, the cash value of
other remuneration, and special payments such as bonuses, prizes, or gifts.

[
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Inspection of Records
Employer records must be open to inspection and may be copied by the
administrator or his authorized representatives, or the Department of Taxation, at
any reasonable time and as often as may be necessary.

L
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Required Poster and Notice

Each employer is required to post a Notice to Employees (form NUCS
4324) at each workplace and must provide a leaflet Information for the
Unemployed Worker (form NUCS 4139) to each employee who separates from
employment. A poster and leaflet are automatically mailed to each new employer
upon registration.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available online at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request copies from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”
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Quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports
Each employer must file an Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and
Wage Report (form NUCS 4072) and pay unemployment taxes each quarter.

There are several methods available for filing quarterly reports:

Online Reporting via the Internet

Online tax and wage reporting at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org> consists of a
series of interactive questions with helpful prompts along the way. The system even
performs the calculations for the amount of taxes due. The options for online
reporting of wage details are Secure File Transfer Protocol (SFTP) utilizing
MMREF-1 magnetic media specifications, data entry directly online (including an
auto load function), or attaching a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet saved as a comma-
delimited file. Reporting online is efficient and secure.

Filing on Magnetic Media

Magnetic media can be submitted to report tax and wage information using
the MMREF-1 magnetic media specifications ona CD, diskette, or cartridge. The
magnetic media specifications are available at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or you
may request a copy of the specifications by contacting the Contributions Section.
See Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for the “Magnetic
Media Coordinator.”

Send Quarterly Reports by Mail

You may also report quarterly tax and wage information on the
Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report (form NUCS 4072).
Mail completed quarterly reports to the Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 8§9713-0030.

Quarterly reporting forms are sent to each registered employer
approximately one month before the end of the quarter. The form is preprinted with
your Employer Account Number, tax rate, and the taxable wage base. If, for some
reason, you do not receive a preprinted quarterly form by the last day of each
calendar quarter, contact the division to verify your correct address.

To list additional employees use a Continuation Sheet (form NUCS
4073). Oryoumay enclose a list of additional employees including for each, their
Social Security number, name, total tips, and total wages (including tips).
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See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available online at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request copies from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”

NOTE: Wages must be reported in the quarter in which
they are actually paid, rather than for the pay
period in which they were earned.

When Reports and Payments Are Due

Generally, the completed quarterly report , together with any payment due,
mustbereceived by the division, by the last day of the first month following the close
of the calendar quarter covered by the report. Ifthe due date is a Saturday, Sunday,
or legal holiday, then reports and taxes are due on the next day that is not a
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

Calendar Quarter Due Date
January, February, March April 30
April,May, June July 31
July, August, September October 31
October, November, December January 31

The postmark determines timeliness if mailed. Online reporting and
electronic payments should be completed by 5:00 P.M. Pacific Time on the due
date. Itis yourresponsibility to file reports and pay when due, regardless if you
receive and use a preprinted form, download a blank form, orif you file online. The
filing is considered delinquent if one or more days late. Avoidunnecessary charges
by filing and paying timely.

Reporting Wages

Total gross wages (including tips) paid to each employee during a calendar
quarter must be reported. Although the total wages must be reported for each
employee, taxes are required to be paid only up to the taxable wage limit for the
year.

Unemployment benefit entitlement is based on the total wages earned by
an employee. The wage information needed to determine the amount of
unemployment benefits, is obtained from wages reported each quarter.
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Amounts in excess of the taxable wage limit (item4 on the form) paid during
acalendar year, and occurring in a calendar quarter, are deducted from total wages
(item 3 on the form ) to arrive at taxable wages for the quarter (item 5 on the form).
The taxable wage limit is calculated by the division each year at 66 2/3 percent of
the average annual wage in Nevada.

NOTE: Theamount of tips reported for Internal Revenue
Service purposes must be listed separately in item
15 when using form NUCS 4072, and included in
total wages in item 16. While tips are used to
determine the amount of a claimant’s benefits,
they are excluded from the annual computation of
the maximum weekly benefit amount and,
therefore, must be reported separately.

The following is an example of proper reporting of wages for one individual
paid $2,500 per month, based on the taxable wage base for 2008 ($25,400):

Example
First Second Third Fourth Annual
Quarter Quarter Quarter Quarter Totals

Total Wages  $7,500 $ 7,500 $ 7,500 $ 7,500 $ 30,000
Nontaxable -0- -0- -0- $4,600 $ 4,600
Taxable $7.,500 $ 7,500 $ 7,500 $2,900 $ 25,400

When reporting wages using the Employer’s Quarterly
Contribution and Wage Report (form NUCS 4072), the
nontaxable portion ($4,600 in the fourth quarter) would be entered in
item4 of the form and deducted from the total wages initem 3 to arrive
attotal taxable wages initem 5.

Calculation of Taxes

The unemployment insurance (UI) tax rate for new employers is 2.95
percent (0.0295) of taxable wages. For experience rated employers, the rates may
range from 0.25 percent to a maximum of 5.40 percent of taxable wages. In
addition, all employers, except those with a 5.40 percent rate, must pay a tax for
the Career Enhancement Program (CEP) of 0.05 percent (0.0005).
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Iffiling online, taxes will be calculated for you based on your current tax
rate. Iffiling on the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report
(form NUCS 4072), sent to you each quarter, your unemployment insurance tax
rate is preprinted on the form (item 1d ). If you are using a blank form obtained
online and you are not sure of your Ul tax rate, you need to contact the Contributions
Section to verify your rate.

Tax rates represent a percentage of the taxable wages. When calculating
and reporting the amounts, care must be given to ensure the correct decimal
equivalents are used.

Below are the decimal equivalents of each of the tax rates:

Ul Tax Rate Decimal Equivalent Tax Per $1,000
5.40% .0540 $ 54.00
5.05% .0505 50.50
4.75% .0475 47.50
4.45% .0445 44.50
4.15% .0415 41.50
3.85% .0385 38.50
3.55% .0355 35.50
3.25% .0325 32.50
2.95% .0295 29.50
2.65% .0265 26.50
2.35% .0235 23.50
2.05% .0205 20.50
1.75% 0175 17.50
1.45% .0145 14.50
1.15% 0115 11.50
0.85% .0085 8.50
0.55% .0055 5.50
0.25% .0025 2.50

CEP Tax Rate
0.05% .0005 .50
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Penalty and Interest Calculations

Late Filing of Reports
Ifyoufile your report after the due date, either online or on paper, you must pay the
following penalties:

* Forfeitof $5 if one or more days late filing the report.
 Additional interest charge of 1/10 percent (0.001) of

taxable wages (nottaxes due), after 10 days, for each
month or part of amonth that the report is delinquent.

Example
A reportdue April 30, thatis not filed until June 14, with taxable
wages of $15,000 would be assessed $5 plus an additional charge
of $30 ($15,000x 0.001 x 2 months).

NOTE: Avoid these costly penalties by filing all reports on
time, even if you cannot pay the taxes when due.

Late Payment of Taxes
Iftaxes are not paid when due, you must pay interest of 1 percent (0.01)
of UI contributions (taxes) due for each month or part of a month that the
paymentis delinquent. There is no interest charged for delinquent CEP taxes.

Example
A payment due April 30, that is not filed until June 14, with UI
contributions due in the amount of $500 would be assessed $10
($500 X 0.01 x 2 months).

NOTE: If a payment you submit is not honored by your
bank, you will be charged a processing fee of
$25.00.
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Other Reporting Information

Number of Workers

In addition to reporting tax and wage information, it is also required to
include the total number of employees being reported. The total is used as a
checkpoint for accuracy.

Also, it is required to include the number of full-time and part-time
employees for each month of the quarter. The count should include those who
worked during or received pay subject to the Nevada Unemployment
Compensation Law for the payroll period, which includes the 12th of the month.
The number of employees per month are used to compute the maximum weekly
benefitamount and the annual taxable wage limit. These amounts impact the
overall cost to employers. Please provide accurate information.

Change of Address and Other Business Changes

Tobetter serve you, itis important that you notify the division in writing of
any business changes, including address changes. Ifyou have established an online
account for unemployment insurance taxes, you can view the information we have
for your employer account and you can make any necessary changes yourself. You
canupdate address information, correct your FEIN, change owner information, as
well as close or reopen your employer account.

Changes can also be reported on the Employer’s Quarterly
Contribution and Wage Report (form NUCS 4072) when you submit your
report for the quarter. Provide name and address changes in item la. Other
changes should be indicated initem 2, with details provided on page 2 of the report.

To contact the division directly, see Appendix C for the telephone number for
“Registration Unit,” or write the Employment Security Division, Contributions
Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 89713-0030.

Reporting Employees Who Work in Other States
All states have a uniform provision regarding multi-state workers to prevent
reporting to more than one state:

+ Ifaworkerperforms all ofhis services in Nevada, or if
only temporary or incidental services are performed in
other states, the services are “localized” in Nevada, and
all of the worker’s wages must be reported to Nevada.
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+ Ifthe worker performs some services in Nevada and
some services in other states which are more than
temporary or incidental, all wages should be reported to
the state in which his “base of operations” is located.

NOTE: “Baseof operations” is the place or fixed center of
more or less permanent nature from which the
employee works; that is, from which he starts his
work and to which he customarily returns. It may
be the worker’s office for business purposes
(which may be maintained in the worker’s home). If
the worker has no “base of operations,” wages
should be reported to the state from which he
receives direction and control.

* If some services are performed in Nevada, but the
worker has neither a “base of operations” nor a
specific location from which he receives direction and
control, all wages should be reported to this state, ifhis
residence is in Nevada.

Foreign Employment
Ifyouemploy U.S. citizens who perform services in foreign countries
(except Canada), their wages must be reported to Nevada if:

1. Theemployer’s principal place of business is in Nevada; or
2. Ifthe employer has no principal place of business inthe U.S.;
but
a. The employeris aresident of this state; or
b. The employer is a Nevada corporation.

No Payroll
Ifyou did not pay wages during a calendar quarter, you will not owe any
taxes. However, you are still required to submit a quarterly report. Youmay file
online at <https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or complete the Employer’s Quarterly
Contribution and Wage Report (form NUCS 4072). On the form please
indicate “No Payroll,” sign, date, and submit as usual. Four consecutive “no
payroll” reports will result in an automatic suspension of your account.
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If your business closes, or if you anticipate having no employees in
the future, please notify the division immediately. If you have established an
online account for Ul taxes, you may suspend/close your account online.
Otherwise, you must provide written notification to the division. If you donot
advise the division, your account will remain in active status and you could be
subject to unnecessary levies of assessment for failure to file reports.

Payment Options

There are three payment options for paying quarterly unemployment
insurance taxes. Youmay send a check (ifless than $10,000 per quarter), or you
may pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) through the Automated Clearing
House (ACH) network by utilizing either ACH Credit or ACH Debit methods.

ACH Credit
To arrange for payment by ACH Credit it is necessary to contact your
financial institution to determine what services they offer and the associated cost.
The employeris responsible for all costs charged by the financial institution. An
ACH Credit Program Guide, including a preauthorization form, is available from the
division. The guide provides all the information needed to register for this service.

ACH Debit

Payment by ACH Debit can be made online through a secure Internet
application or by using a touch-tone telephone. There isno costto the employer.
To pay by ACH Debit you must first complete, with the division, an Electronic
Payment System Authorization for a Personal Identification Number (PIN).

A special feature of the ACH Debit method is the ability to “warehouse”
a payment, which means an employer (or an authorized agent) can enter the
payment information when convenient and then seta “settlement” date up to 30 days
inthe future. Upuntil the settlement date (before 5:00 P.M. Pacific Time), inquiries
canbe made, as well as changes, and even cancellations. The funds will notbe
transferred until the designated date.

Checks Sent in the Mail
Beginning July 1,2008, payments of quarterly contributions of $10,000 or
more must be paid electronically by either ACH Credit or ACH Debit (see details
above). That includes aggregate quarterly contributions that reach the $10,000
threshold, filed by persons reporting for one or more employers.
Ifthe payment is less than $10,000, whether reporting online or submitting
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apaper quarterly report, youmay send a check in the mail. If filing online, you can
“Printa Payment Voucher” to mail in with your payment. If submitting a paper
report, enclose the check with your report. Mail to Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 8§9713-0030.

Corrections to Quarterly Reports

If you discover an error on information previously reported (whether
reported online or on paper) you must submit the correction on a Statement to
Correct (form NUCS 4075) or Statement to Correct—Tips (form NUCS
4075T). The most common error is an incorrect social security number. Do not
submitan “amended” quarterly report. A Statement to Correct formisrequired.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available online at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request copies from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”

Refunds and Adjustments

Applications for adjustment must be made not later than three years after
the date on which such payments became due. An adjustment or refund will not be
made in any case with respect to contributions on wages that have been included
in the determination of an eligible claim for benefits, unless and until it is shown to
the satisfaction of the administrator that such determination was due entirely to the
fault or mistake of the Employment Security Division.

Corrections that result in an overpayment will be credited to your account
to apply against future taxes. If your account is no longer active and/or you would
likearefund, you mustrequest the refund in writing. The law requires that all refunds
will be made without interest.
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Credit Against Federal Unemployment Tax

Currently, the Federal Unemployment Tax is 6.2 percent (0.062) of
taxable wages up to $7,000 per individual. If you pay all state unemployment taxes
when due, that tax is reduced to 0.8 percent (0.008). In order to receive full credit
against the Federal Unemployment Tax (federal form 940), you must pay all state
unemployment taxes when due.

The amount to report on federal form 940 is the sum of all state
unemployment insurance tax paid timely for the four calendar quarters of the year.
Do notinclude CEP tax; this is a separate state tax and cannot be credited against
your Federal Unemployment Tax.
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New Hire Reporting
Federal welfare legislation requires all employers to report certain
information on newly hired or rehired employees to a designated state agency. In
Nevada, the new hire information must be reported to the Employment Security
Division. New hire information is transmitted to state and national Child Support
Enforcement Offices to assist in locating parents who are not paying legally
required child support.

Required information that must be reported includes:

* Employee’s Name, Address, and Social Security Number
* Employer’s Federal Employer ID Number, Name, and Address

Information that is helpful, but not required includes:

o Start Date

Date of Hire

» Date of Birth

 State in Which Hired

* Employer Telephone and Fax Number
* Contact Person’s Name

In addition to this information being used to assist in locating parents for
child support purposes, the Employment Security Division accesses the information
to identify cases of unemployment insurance fraud. The reported new hire
information is matched against unemployment insurance benefits information to
identify possible fraud, which is then investigated further.

Written information, in any format, is acceptable as long as it contains the
required information. The information can be faxed or mailed to the Employment
Security Division. New hire information may also by sent viamagnetic media. See
Appendix Cunder “New Hire Reporting” for the telephone and fax numbers or
write the Employment Security Division, Contributions Section, 500 E. Third
Street, Carson City, Nevada 89713-0030.



DELINQUENT REPORTS AND TAXES

Employers who fail to report quarterly tax and
wage information or pay taxes when due are subject to
forfeit and interest payments. If you are unable to pay
taxes when due, contact the division immediately to make
alternative arrangements.

Payment agreements may be negotiated if you
respond to notices and make a good faith effort to clear the
liability. The division makes every reasonable effort to
work with employers before taking legal action.

[
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Failure to File Reports
Penalties for failure to file reports when due can be substantial.
Even if you cannot pay your tax on time, file factual reports when due to
avoid the additional costs below:

* Forfeit of $5 for each report, one or more days late; and

 Additional interest charge of 1/10 percent (0.001) of
taxable wages (not taxes due), after 10 days, for each
month or part of a month that the report is delinquent.

Waiver of Forfeit and Interest

The administrator may, at his discretion, waive the collection of forfeitand
interestif it appears that the failure to file reports within the time prescribed
was due to circumstances over which the employing unit, its officers or
agent had no control. Requests for waivers must be submitted in writing to the
Employment Security Division, Contributions Section, 500 E. Third Street, Carson
City, Nevada 89713-0030.
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Delinquent Taxes

Interest Rate

The interest rate on unpaid taxes is 1 percent (0.01) per month, or portion
ofamonth (12 percent annually). Pursuantto NRS 612.620, interest on delinquent
taxes cannot be waived under any circumstances.

Effect on Federal Unemployment Tax

Currently, the Federal Unemployment Tax (reported on form 940) is
6.2 percent of taxable wages up to $7,000 per individual. However, ifan employer
pays all state unemployment taxes when due, that tax is reduced by 5.40 percent,
resulting in anet federal tax of .8 percent. Failure to pay state taxes when due will
resultinahigher federal tax rate.
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Levies of Assessment
Ifyou fail to report quarterly tax and wage information when due, or ifany
report is deemed to be incorrect or insufficient, the administrator may make an
estimate, based on any information in his possession, of the amount of wages paid
and taxes payable, together with any forfeit and interest which may have accrued.
Such “Levy of Assessment” shall become final 15 days after the mailing of
“Notice of Levy of Assessment.”

NOTE: To avoid levies of assessment, you must file all
reports when due, even if you had no payroll for the
quarter, and notify the division promptly when you
discontinue business.
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Legal Action
Ifan employer fails to make satisfactory arrangements to pay delinquent
taxes, the division may take certain legal actions against the assets of the employer
torecover the liability.

Liens NRS 612.680

Contributions, penalties, and interest due and unpaid from any employer
constitute a lien upon all of the assets of the employer, the lien to be prior to and paid
inpreference to all other liens or claims except prior recorded liens and prior taxes.

Civil Action NRS 612.625

Ifany employer defaults in the payment of contributions, reimbursements
in lieu of contributions, interest, or forfeit, the division may collect the amount due
by civil action brought in the name of the State of Nevada in district court.

Summary Judgment NRS 612.630
In addition to or independent of the remedy by civil action, the law also
allows the division to obtain summary judgment against debtor employers.

Garnishment of Employer’s Assets NRS 612.685 and NRS 612.686

Failure to cooperate with the division to make satisfactory arrangements to
retire adebt canresult in garnishment of monies held by others which are due to your
business (such as bank accounts and receivables). Such garnishment will freeze
all funds held by that institution, even if the funds on deposit exceed the
amount due, until the debt is satisfied and the funds are released by the division.
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Building Contractors—Liability for Subcontractors
Prime (general) building contractors subjectto NRS Chapter 624 may be
held liable for unpaid unemployment taxes, penalties, and interest due from their
subcontractors, with respect to wages paid for employment on such contract. Such
debts are subject to summary judgment against the prime contractor, which shall
constitute a lien on all real and personal property.
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NRS 612.687 provides that every contractor, before the completion of the
contractshall:

A. Withhold sufficient money on the contract; or

B. Require a surety bond from the subcontractor to guarantee
payment.

The law further provides that if the contractor does neither “A” nor “B,”
the contractor is directly liable for all contributions, penalties, and interest due from
the subcontractor.

Releases

After the due date of each quarterly report, the division, upon written
request, using the Certification of Subcontractor’s Unemployment Insurance
Payments (form NUCS 4375) willissue “conditional” releases certifying thatthe
subcontractor has filed all necessary reports and paid all known contributions,
penalties, and interest through a certain date. Due to its confidential nature, no
information will be issued on the telephone and no specific amounts will be released.

The decision of when to release withheld money is at the discretion of the
prime (general) contractor. He may do so when a “conditional’ release is received,
oratany time he believes he has sufficient evidence that the contributions, penalties,
and interest have been paid by the subcontractor.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The form is available online at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request a copy from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”

Extent of Liability

A “conditional” release does not terminate the responsibility of the prime
(general) contractor. The prime (general) contractor may be held liable for
additional amounts which may become due as a result of unreported wages by the
subcontractor for a period of two years if the prime (general) contractor is located
within Nevada, and three years if the prime (general) contractor is located outside
Nevada.
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UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS

Unemployment benefits are paid to qualified workers who are unemployed
through no fault of their own, and who can demonstrate an attachment to the labor
force from previous earnings in employment. Benefits are intended to be a
temporary, partial replacement of income to help meet basic living expenses until
the worker can find suitable employment.
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“Unemployed” Defined
Apersonis “unemployed’:

* Inany week during which he performs no services and
withrespect to which no remuneration is payable to him;
or

* In any week of less than full-time work if the
remuneration payable to him with respect to such week
is less than his weekly benefit amount.

3

Nopersonis “unemployed” during any week in which he:

* Isself-employed; or

* Receives benefits for a temporary total disability ora
temporary partial disability pursuant to workers’
compensation or occupational disease laws of Nevada;
or

* Receives money for rehabilitative services pursuant to
workers’ compensation or occupational disease laws of

Nevada; or

* Isonamutually agreed leave of absence from work with
arightto return to his employment.
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Requirements for Benefit Eligibility

Unemployed
A person must be unemployed or partially unemployed.

Prior Wage Earnings
A person must have been paid sufficient wages from previous employers
subjectto the Unemployment Compensation Law to meet minimum requirements.

Able to Work
A person must be physically and mentally able to perform work that he is
reasonably fitted for by his training and experience.

Actively Seeking Work
A person must be making an earnest and conscientious effort to find work,
and he must be willing to immediately accept suitable work.

Registered for Work
A person must be registered for work with a public employment office.

File A Claim

A person can file his unemployment insurance claim by calling a telephone
call center or by using the Internet. See Appendix C for telephone numbers for
“Unemployment Benefits.” To access the Internet claim filing system, go to
<www.nvdetr.org>.

Not Disqualified

A person must not have been determined disqualified from receiving
benefits.
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Benefit Disqualifications
A claimant may be disqualified from receiving benefits for any one of a
number of reasons set forth in state law. Following are some of the more common
reasons for disqualification:

Voluntary Quit

A person who leaves his most recent work, or under certain conditions his
nextto last work, voluntarily without good cause, will be ineligible for benefits
until he has earned wages equal to or exceeding his weekly benefitamount in each
of ten weeks from a subsequent employer subject to Unemployment
Compensation Law.

Seeking Other Employment

A person who leaves his most recent work, or under certain conditions his
nextto last work, to seek other employment will be ineligible for benefits until he
secures other employment or he has earned wages equal to or exceeding his benefit
amount in each of ten weeks from a subsequent employer subject to
Unemployment Compensation Law.

Misconduct

A person who is terminated from his most recent work, or under certain
conditions his next to last work, for misconduct in connection with his work, will be
ineligible for benefits until he has earned wages equal to or exceeding his benefit
amount for up to 16 weeks (depending on the seriousness of the offense) from a
subsequent employer subject to Unemployment Compensation Law.

Crimes

A person who has been discharged for commission of assault, arson inany
degree, sabotage, grand larceny, embezzlement, or wanton destruction of property
in connection with his work, shall be denied benefits based on wages earned from
the employer concerned, provided such assault, arson in any degree, sabotage,
grand larceny, embezzlement, or wanton destruction of property, is admitted in
writing or under oath or in a hearing of record by the person or has resulted in a
conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction.
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Refusal of Suitable Work

A person who fails to accept suitable work when offered, or fails to apply
for available suitable work as directed, will be ineligible for benefits until he has
earned wages equal to or exceeding his benefit amount for up to 15 weeks from
asubsequent employer subjectto Unemployment Compensation Law.

Attendance at School

Training may be approved if given specifically to provide the trainee with
skills to become reemployed and there is a market for the required skills in the area
of the trainee’s residence.

Labor Dispute Participation

A person who is out of work because of a labor dispute in active progress
at the establishment where he was last employed, will be ineligible for benefits for
the duration of the dispute, unless he can show that he is not participating in,
financing, or directly interested in the dispute.

Receipt of Other Payments
A person will be ineligible for benefits for any week with respect to which
he receives vacation pay, severance pay, or wages in lieu of notice.

False Statements

A person will be disqualified for up to 52 weeks if he knowingly makes a
false statement or representation or knowingly fails to disclose amaterial fact for the
purpose of causing benefits to be paid or increased. The person is also guilty ofa
misdemeanor.

Reduction for Receipt of Pension

A person’s weekly amount of benefits will be reduced by any pension or
retirement benefits received, if the pension was paid entirely by the employer.
If the employee made any contribution to the pension or retirement plan,
unemployment benefits will not be reduced.
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Period Between Academic Years or Terms

Wages from educational institutions are not usable for any week of
unemployment which begins during a period between two academic years or terms,
vacation, or recess for a holiday, when there is a reasonable assurance that the
individual will be provided employment from an educational institution in the next
academic year or term.

Sports or Athletic Events

Wages on the basis of services in sports or athletic events, or training or
preparing for sports or athletic events, are not usable for the purpose of
unemployment benefits which commence during the interval between two
successive sport seasons, and there is areasonable assurance that the individual will
perform such services in the later season.

Alien Status

Benefits may not be paid to non-citizens unless wages on which the claim
is based were earned while the individual was lawfully authorized to work during
satisfactory immigration status.
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Amount of Benefits

The amount of benefits an individual will be paid depends on how much he
earned in his “Base Period.” The minimum amount of benefits is $16 per week,
and the maximum amount changes each year (effective July 1), and is equal to
50percent of the average weekly wage (excluding tips) paid to Nevada workers.

Generally, state unemployment benefits are paid for a maximum of
26 weeks. During times of recession, this may be extended under a separate
federal/state extended benefits program. There are also other emergency federal
programs in force, as determined by Congress.
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Base Period
The base period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters
prior to filing a valid claim for benefits. There are four calendar quarters:

First Quarter January, February, March
Second Quarter April, May, June

Third Quarter July, August, September
Fourth Quarter October, November, December

Illustration of Base Period

Date Claim Filed Base Period
January, February, or March 2008 Third Quarter, 2007
(First Quarter) Second Quarter, 2007

First Quarter, 2007
Fourth Quarter, 2006

April, May, or June 2008 Fourth Quarter, 2007

(Second Quarter) Third Quarter, 2007
Second Quarter, 2007
First Quarter, 2007

July, August, or September 2008 First Quarter, 2008

(Third Quarter) Fourth Quarter, 2007
Third Quarter, 2007
Second Quarter, 2007

October, November, or December 2008 Second Quarter, 2008

(Fourth Quarter) First Quarter, 2008
Fourth Quarter, 2007
Third Quarter, 2007
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“Alternate” Base Period

Under certain circumstances, a claimant who has not earned enough wages
during his regular base period, because he was receiving total or partial disability
benefits, may choose an “alternate” base period.

The alternate base period consists of the first four of the last five completed
calendar quarters immediately preceding the first day of the calendar week
in which his disability began.

NOTE: Benefits paid on a claim using the alternate base
period will not be charged to the employer’s
experience record.
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Benefit Charges to Base Period Employers
Unemployment benefits paid to claimants are charged to the experience
record of employers who paid wages to that person during his base period. There
are two possible methods of charging the benefits, depending on the amount of
wages paid by employers:

A. Ifone ofthe base period employers paid 75 percent or more
of the wages, all of that person’s benefits are charged to the
experience record of thatemployer. However, if the employer
can show that the claimant left his employ voluntarily without
good cause or was discharged for misconduct or was the
spouse of an active member of the Armed Forces of the United
States and left his employment because his spouse was
transferred to a different location, the benefits will not be
charged to his experience record.

B. Ifthere is no employer who paid 75 percent or more of the
wages, the benefits are charged to all base period employers
in proportion to the amount of wages paid. In this case, none
of the base period employers have the opportunity to
obtain a non-charge ruling to their experience records,
even ifthe worker voluntarily quit without good cause or was
discharged for misconduct, unless the claimant is found to
have quitemployment with the last or next to last employing
unit solely to accept other employment.
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NOTE: Voluntary quits and discharge for misconduct
impact two separate functions:

* Ifitis from the last employer, or in some cases the
next to last employer, it determines whether the
claimant is disqualified from benefits.

e Ifitis from a base period employer who has paid
75 percent or more of the wages, it determines if
the benefits will be charged to his experience
record.

Crimes in Connection With Work

Allbase period employers involved in the claim have the opportunity to
demonstrate that the worker committed crimes in connection with work. The crime
must be admitted in writing or under oath, or in a hearing of record by the claimant,
oritresulted inaconviction ina court of competent jurisdiction. If so demonstrated,
benefits are not paid with respect to those wages; therefore, they are not charged
to that employer’s experience record.

[
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EMPLOYERS AND THE BENEFIT CLAIMS PROCESS

Employers play a strategic role in the claims filing process. The integrity of
the program relies upon the active participation of employers. The division’s mission
is to pay unemployment benefits only to those individuals who are entitled by law
and in amounts prescribed by law.

The law provides incentives for employer participation in the form of lower
taxes under the “experience rating” system. If an employer does not respond to
notices with factual information regarding employee separation, it could affect his
experience record, which determines his future tax rates. If the division does
nothave all the facts, it could also result in payment of benefits that should not have
been paid. This reduces the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund, which
results in higher cost and overall tax increases to all Nevada employers.
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When a Claim Is Filed
When a person files a claim for unemployment benefits, the division must
determine that the person meets all criteria of eligibility before benefits are paid. The
following steps are taken:

A. Ifthepersonisunemployed, wages reported to the division by
previous employers during his base period are checked to
determine ifhe earned enough wages to be eligible.

Employer Involvement: Ifthe claimantbelieves all of his
wages have not been reported properly by base period
employers, he may file a“Wage Protest.” The matter will then
be turned over to acompliance/audit investigator to determine
if wages have been properly reported. Your cooperation is
requested to provide honest and accurate information to the
investigator. The investigator is trying to determine the facts so
that the claimant receives only those benefits to which he is
entitled by law.

B. Whenaperson files a claim, each employer in the person’s
base period—as well as the most recent employer—is sent an
“Employer Notice of Claim Filed.” If the person worked less
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than 16 weeks for his last employer, the next to last employer
will also receive a notice. It is possible that a base period
employer is both the last employer and the next to last
employer. Itis the employer’s responsibility to handle the
“Employer Notice of Claim Filed” promptly. The notice will
clearly indicate ifan employer’s account is subject to charges
based on the claim.

The reason for separation from a period of employment will be
stated and plays a significant role as to whether or not the
claimantis eligible for benefits. For example, ifthe employee
was discharged for violating a company policy or voluntarily
quit, the employer should review the circumstances and reply
inwritingtothe “Employer Notice of Claim Filed.”

Employer Involvement: The employer is required to
submit, in writing, all relevant facts which could affect the
person’s rights to benefits within 11 calendar days after the
date of mailing. Ifthereisa question of eligibility, youmay,
butyou are notrequired to, attend a predetermination hearing.
Ifyou do notattend the hearing or submit written information
within the 11 calendar days, the division must act on available
information, and you give up your rights to protest. If the
available information is not accurate or complete, avoidable
charges to your account may result.

. The division will issue a written determination to the last
employer and/or the next to last employer, whichever is
involved, provided the employer has responded to the
“Employer Notice of Claim Filed” within 11 calendar
days and has submitted all relevant facts that could
affect the claimant’s rights to benefits. If you have not
responded as required by law, you will lose your appeal rights.

Employer Involvement: Ifyoubelieve that the division’s
determination is improper, you have the right to appeal.
Appeals may be filed in person at any office of the Employment
Security Division, or by submitting a letter addressed to the
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office that issued the determination, stating the reason for
appealing and the name and social security number of the
claimant. To be considered timely, the appeal must be filed
within 11 calendar days after the date of mailing shown on the
determination. The claimant has the same appeal rights and
responsibilities if he believes the determination is improper.

D. Appealsareheard by animpartial Appeal Tribunal. Decisions
of the Appeal Tribunal may be appealed to the Board of
Review. The decisions of the Board of Review may be
appealed to the district court.

Employer Involvement: Ifpossible, attend appeal hearings.
These are informal administrative proceedings and do not
require representation by legal counsel, although you may
bring whomever you want to represent or assist you. [f you
cannot attend, please submit detailed facts in writing to the
Appeals Office.
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Partial/Total Claims
A person whose pay and hours of work have been reduced by his regular
employer because of lack of work in any week may be eligible for partial
unemployment benefits. He is eligible ifhis earnings in the week of reduced work
are less than the unemployment insurance benefit he would have received if totally
unemployed. The amount of benefits is equal to the difference between the weekly
benefitamount and the earnings, plus 25 percent of the earnings.

[ }
[guran ]

Penalties for False Statements

Section 612.715 of the Nevada Revised Statutes provides:

Whoever makes a false statement or representation knowing it to be false,
or knowingly fails to disclose a material fact, to obtain or increase any benefit or
other payment under this chapter, either for himself or for any other person, is guilty
ofamisdemeanor.
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Section 612.717 of the Nevada Revised Statutes provides:

Ifthe administrator finds that any employer or any employee, officer or
agent of any employer has willfully made a false statement or representation or has
willfully failed to report a material fact concerning the termination of a claimant’s
employment, he shall make a determination thereon, charging the employer’s
reserve account not less than two nor more than 16 times the weekly benefitamount
of the claimant. The administrator shall give notice to the employer of a
determination under this section. Appeals may be taken from the determination in
the same manner as appeals from determinations on benefit claims.

Section 612.730 of the Nevada Revised Statutes provides:

1. Any employing unit or any officer or agent of an employing unit or
any other person who makes a false statement or representation
knowing itto be false, or who knowingly fails to disclose amaterial
fact, to prevent or reduce the payment of benefits to any natural
person entitled thereto, or who willfully fails or refuses to make any
such contributions or other payment or to furnish any reports
required by this chapter, or to produce or permit the inspection or
copying of records as required by this chapter, is guilty of a
misdemeanor.

2. Any employing unit, or any officer or agent of an employing unit or
any other person who knowingly:

(a) Attempts to use a plan or scheme to avoid becoming or
remaining subject to the provisions of'this chapter or to
reduce any contribution or other payment required
pursuant to the provisions of this chapter; or

(b) Advises an employing unitto use a plan or scheme to avoid
becoming or remaining subject to the provisions of this
chapter or to reduce any contribution or other payment
required pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, is guilty
ofacategory C felony and shall be punished as provided
in NRS 193.130.
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EMPLOYMENT SERVICES

Nevada JobConnect is charged with oversight and provision of workforce
development services to both employers and job seekers. For employers, the
services include recruiting, retention, training and retraining, and out-placement
services, as well as information on labor law and labor market statistics. The
services are free to all Nevada employers. Nevada JobConnect offices are located
statewide. See Appendix C for telephone numbers or visit the department’s web
site at <www.nvdetr.org> for more information.
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Posting Job Orders

Job orders posted with the Employment Security Division are distributed
statewide through a computerized system to all Nevada JobConnect offices. The
orders are also placed into Nevada’s Job Bank on the Internet. Additionally, the
job orders are posted to the nationwide America’s Job Exchange. Both Nevada’s
Job Bank and America’s Job Exchange are linked to the department’s web site at
<http://www.detr.state.nv.us/es/es_job_order.htm>. The JobConnectoffices
can provide screening/referral control of all candidates, or employers can choose
to have candidates contact them directly through America’s Job Exchange.
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Veteran Services
Customized employment and training opportunities are provided to eligible
veterans. Services such as job development, job placement, occupational training,
and on-the-job training are available at Nevada JobConnect offices statewide.
Many offices have Veterans’ Employment Representatives and Disabled
Veterans’ Outreach Program Specialists.
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On-The-Job Training
Programs for on-the-job training are available to employers who hire
unemployed workers who cannot return to their normal occupations due to
economic and technological changes. Employers are partially reimbursed for the
cost associated with retraining these workers for new occupations.
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Layoffs and Business Closures

The Rapid Response Team offers quick intervention to workers and
employers affected by layoffs or business closures to help make the transition easier
for both parties. Employers and their workers receive information about job
placement, job training or retraining, counseling, unemployment insurance, on-the-
jobtraining, job fairs and other services available through the Employment Security
Division and local community organizations. Employers can request the
intervention team whenever a reduction in work force is imminent.
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Short-Term Labor
Laborers for short-term jobs of a few hours or a few days are readily
available through the Casual Labor Offices in Reno and Las Vegas.

[
(g}

Work Opportunity Tax Credit

The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) program provides a tax
credit to private, for-profit employers who hire and retain new employees from
specific target groups.

The target groups include: welfare and food stamp recipients, Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) recipients, Supplemental Security
Income (SSI) recipients, Vocational Rehabilitation referrals, veterans,
ex-felons, and Ticket to Work ticket holders.

Each group has specific criteria that the applicant must meet before
certification can be issued to the employer. Employers mustapply for the tax credit
within 28 days of the new employee’s start date and requires only minimal
paperwork on the employer’s part.

Please contact the Nevada JobConnect office in your area for more
information. See Appendix C for telephone numbers or visit the department’s web
site at <www.nvdetr.org>.
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Labor Market Information

The department’s Research and Analysis Bureau provides a broad
spectrum of current labor market information. Data offerings include monthly
employment and unemployment statistics, a wage survey thatis updated twice each
year, industry and occupational employment projections, and demographic/
affirmative action data.

Labor market information can be accessed via the Nevada Work Force
Informer web site at <www.nevadaworkforce.com>. The web site contains links
to the Nevada Career Information System and other state and federal statistical
sites.

The Research and Analysis Bureau also publishes the monthly
Nevada Economy in Brief, which provides a current snapshot of the Nevada
economy. Bureau economists are available to help you navigate the web site or to
answer your questions. See Appendix C for the telephone number for “Labor
Market Information.”

Business Service Representatives
Business Service Representatives are the employer’s liaison to all
employment services described above. See Appendix C fora complete listing of
telephone numbers for “Nevada JobConnect Offices” located near you.

g,
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APPENDIX A
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. How is my tax rate determined?
New employers pay unemployment insurance (UI) taxes at a rate of
2.95 percent of taxable wages until they are eligible for “experiencerating.” There
is an additional tax of 0.05 percent for the Career Enhancement Program (CEP).
Once you are eligible for experience rating, your rate is determined by two
factors:

* Your “reserve ratio,” which is a measure of your
previous experience with unemployment (see page 19);
and

* Thereserveratio schedule in effect.

The administrator establishes, by regulation, the schedule to be in effect for
each calendar year. Changes to the schedule are made according to the trust fund
balance, economic conditions, and forecasts. The law provides for an annual test
of the trust fund for a guideline. The balance should be sufficient to pay benefits for
one full year, disregarding any additional income (Department of Labor
recommends sufficient funds to pay benefits for 1 1/2 years).

Theregulation is filed pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Actand the
Nevada Open Meeting Law, upon the recommendation of the Employment
Security Council. A meeting is held with the council during October of each year,
followed by a public hearing; both are open to the public.

2. How can I control my costs?

There are anumber of things you can do to help control your costs, all of
which impact your “reserve ratio” or the unemployment insurance trust fund.
Generally, the higher your reserve ratio, the lower your taxes will be:

+ Pay your taxes on time. This is a factor used in your
“reserve ratio” calculation. (Timely payment also
ensures full credit against your Federal Unemployment
Tax.)
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* Respondto division notices, including the “Employer
Notice of Claim Filed.” Whether benefits are paid,
and how much, are often determined by employer
responses. Without sufficient facts, the division must
acton whatever information is available. Benefits paid
in error will likely impact your future tax rates.

* Ifyoufeel adetermination fromthedivisionisinerror, file
atimely appeal and attend all hearings.

* Review your benefit charges and tax rate notices
carefully for errors.

* Keep accurate, written personnel records of your
employees’ performance and conduct. Be particularly
specific when responding to the “Employer Notice of
Claim Filed” regarding the reason for separation.

* Offerjob openings to unemployed workers, if possible.
This reduces overall cost and possibly your individual
tax rate. Take advantage of our free services at Nevada
JobConnect offices located statewide.

* Avoid layoffs whenever feasible. Workers could
possibly be used temporarily in a part-time position or in
some other capacity. Contact other employers in your
industry for possible job openings.

* Notify the division if an unemployed claimant refuses
suitable work, or any other instance you think an
individual is abusing the system.

3. If an employee quits or is fired, can he draw benefits?

Ifthe division determines that the employee either quit without good cause
or was fired for misconduct in connection with his work from his last employer
(orinsome cases his next to last employer), he will be disqualified (see page 46).
Accurate employer records and participation in the benefits process are vital to the
division’s ability to make the correct determination.
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4. Tam abase period employer. One of my workers quit without good
cause, yet my experience record is still charged with part of his benefits.
Why should I be charged, when I had no control over his leaving?

The law provides for disqualification for voluntary quits and misconduct, if
it was the reason for separation from his last employer. If the worker quit or
was discharged from a base period employer who was not the last employer, he
may still receive benefits. In general, benefits are charged proportionately to base
period employers regardless of reason for separation. However, if one of the
employers paid 75 percent or more of the wages, he will be charged for all of those
benefits (other base period employers are not charged at all) unless he can prove
that the worker quit without good cause or was discharged for misconduct, or
unless the claimant is found to have quit employment with the last or next to last
employing unit solely to accept other employment.

5. I'am an officer and sole shareholder of a subchapter “S” corporation.
Why should I have to pay taxes on myself? I will never be able to draw
benefits.

A corporation is a separate legal entity and thus a separate “employing unit”
under Nevada Unemployment Compensation Law. Therefore, any individual
performing services for wages is an employee of the corporation. Subchapter “S”
status pertains to federal income tax laws and has no bearing on state law.
Unemployment compensation is an insurance program; while the likelihood of
drawing benefits may be less than in other situations, it is still possible, ifall other
requirements are met.

6. Are “Cafeteria” and 401k plans reportable wages?

Yes. Amounts deducted from employees’ gross salaries to pay for these
items are “wages.” If, however, the employer makes a matching contribution to
anemployee’s 401k plan, the amount contributed by the employer is not wages.

7. If I have already paid taxes on an employee in another state, then
transfer him to Nevada, can those wages be considered when calculating
nontaxable wages?

Yes, as long as he continues to work for the same employer.

8. Why do employers pay the entire cost of unemployment benefits? Why
doesn’t the employee contribute?
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In a few states, employees do contribute a small share. However, during
the formulation of the federal/state system, the consensus of opinion among the
states was that this would lead to assertions that the employee has a vested right to
the money. But, the intent was to make benefit entitlement contingent only upon
certain conditions regarding employment and unemployment. Ifthe employer bears
the entire cost, he will more likely participate in the benefit entitlement process in
order to control his costs and limit payment to the truly unemployed.

9. Thave written agreements with my workers that they are “independent
contractors.” Doesn’t that exempt them from unemployment tax?

A written contract does not necessarily establish “independent contractor”
status. In fact, any agreement by an individual which waives his rights to benefits is
void (NRS 612.700). And while the written contract provisions may be considered
in any determination, the conditions described in NRS 612.085 must also be met
in fact. See page 9 regarding independent contractors.

10. My workers meet the requirements of independent contractors for
IRS purposes. Doesn’t that exempt them from state unemployment taxes?
Notnecessarily. See page 9 for a full explanation.

11. Why do I have to report tips separately on my quarterly tax reports?

Tipsare included ina claimant’s earnings when determining ifhe is entitled
to benefits and in what amounts. However, the maximum weekly benefit amount
changes each year and is equal to 50 percent of the average weekly wage paid to
Nevada workers. The law requires that tips be excluded from the calculation of the
maximum weekly benefit amount. Reporting tips separately is important for
employers, since it reduces the overall cost and tax rates.

12. What posters and notices are required by Nevada law regarding
unemploymentinsurance?

Each employer is required to post a Notice to Employees (form NUCS
4324) at each workplace and must provide a leaflet, Information for the
Unemployed Worker (form NUCS 4139), to each employee who separates
fromemployment.

See Appendix B for samples of forms. The forms are available online at
<https://uitax.nvdetr.org> or request copies from the Contributions Section. See
Appendix C for the mailing address and telephone number for “Form Requests.”
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APPENDIX B
TAX FORMS

All forms are available at <https://uitax.nvdetr>.org unless otherwise indicated.

FORM PAGE
NBR Nevada Business Registration.................. 64
NUCS 4058 Supplemental Registration Form................. 65

(Agriculture, Domestic, and Nonprofit)
NUCS 4072  Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Report 66

NUCS 4073  Continuation Sheet— Employer’s Quarterly List

of WagesPaid............................. 67
NUCS 4075 Statementto Correct........................ 68
NUCS 4075T Statement to Correct—TIPS .................. 69
NUCS 4139 Information for the Unemployed Worker.......... 70
NUCS 4290* Notice of Employer’s Contribution Rates ......... 71
NUCS 4291* Notice of Employer’s Contribution Rates . ... ..... 72

(Experience Rate Computation)

NUCS 4324 Notice to Employees (Poster) ................. 73
NUCS 4375  Certification of Subcontractor’s Ul Payments. . .. .. 74
NUCS 4460* Application for Transfer of Experience Record . .. .. 75
NUCS 4556 Powerof Attorney . ...........c.coovvuvenann.. 76

* Not available on web site. Must be requested from the Contributions Section.
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NEVADA BUSINESS REGISTRATION

Important details are included in the instructions.
information depending on your type of business.
requirements relating to your business.

Please type or print in black ink. Each agency may request additional
Completing this form does not relieve you of any statutory or regulatory

[N | Am Applying | [J Unemployment Insurance | [] State Business License, Sales/Use Tax Permit, [ Local Business License | SEND A COPY TO
For: (Employment Security Division - ESD) Modified Business Tax  (Department of Taxation) EACH AGENCY
pAl (1New | [J Changein Ownership/ |[]Changein | [JChangein |[]Changein [ Change in Mailing | [ Other
Business Business Entity Location Name Corporate Officers Address
RY Business Entity [[] soke O scop. | puiicy | Cprivately | [] Association | [JPartnership | [ Limited Liabilty | ] Limited Liability | (] Government | (] other
Type: Proprietor Traded Corp|  Held Corp. Partnership Company Entity
Corporate/Entity Name: Corporate/Entity Telephone Federal Tax Identification Number

Corporate/Entity
Address:

Street Number, Direction (N, S, E, W) and Name  Suite, Unit or Apt #

City, State, and Zip Code +4

State of Incorporation or Formation

Nevada Name
(DBA):

Business Telephone

Fax

()

E-mail Address:

Website Address:

Mailing Address:

Street Number, Direction (N, S, E, W) and Name ~ Suite, Unit or Apt #

City, State, and Zip Code +4

=

0

Location(s) of Nevada
Business Operations:

Street Number, Direction (N, S, E, W) and Name  Suite, Unit or Apt #

City, State, and Zip Code +4

[

Location of
Business Records:

Street Number, Direction (N, S, E, W) and Name  Suite, Unit or Apt #

City, State, and Zip Code +4

Telephone Number:

()

List All Owners, Partners, Corporate Officers, Managers, Members, etc. (If individual ownership, list only one owner.) Attach Additional Sheets if Needed.

Last, First, Ml : Residence Address (Street) SSN: Date of Birth

Title Percent Owned | City, State, Zip +4 Residence Telephone
Last, First, MI Residence Address (Street) ‘ SSN: Date of Birth

Title Percent Owned | City, State, Zip +4 Residence Telephone
Last, First, MI Residence Address (Street) | SSN: Date of Birth

Title Percent Owned | City, State, Zip +4 Residence Telephone
Responsible Local Contact ( Last, First, MI & Title ): Residence Address (Street), City, State, Zip +4 SSN. Residence Telephone

Date Business Started in Nevada|

Date Business Location Opened

Date First Worker Hired in Nevada | Date of First Nevada Payroll

Amount of First Nevada Payroll

Number of Employees

PLEASE CHECK ALL THAT APPLY TO YOUR BUSINESS

L] Mining || Domestics L] Outside Dining L_| Water Appropriation L_| Adult Materials/Activity ] Amusement Machines [ ] Resident Agent

[ service (] Agriculture [] Home Occupation  [] Hazardous Material [ Leased or Leasing Employees [ Alcohol [ Financial Institutions
[] Tobacco [ Mar ing [] Retail Sales—New [] Construction/Erection  [] Leasing (Other than Employees)  [] Gaming [ Mortgage Brokers
[] pelivery  [] Transportation [] Retail Sales—Used [] Telephone Solicitation  [] Supply/Use Temporary Workers ~ [] Health Services [] Banker

[] Wholesale  [[] Not for Profit  [] Live Entertainment [] Environmental Discharge [] Regulated by F Permit Number [Jother

=
[S]

Describe in Detail the Nature of Your Business in Nevada. Include Product Sold, Labor Performed and/or Services Rendered.
State the approximate percentage of sales or revenues resulting from each item. Example: Retail sale of major appliances to public 60%; repair 40%.

=
(o2}

If You Have Acquired A Nevada Business, Changed Ownership/Business Entity, or Have a New Federal Tax Number, Complete This Section:

Date Acquired/Changed: Acquired/Changed by: D Purchase D Lease D Other Portion Acquired/Changed: D In Whole D InPart
Name(s) of Previous Owner(s) Previous Owner(s) Business Name
Address (Street) City State Zip Code +4

Enter Your Previous Nevada Sales/Use Tax Permit Number, if applicable:

Enter Previous Owner(s) ESD Account Number:

[y
~

| CERTIFY THE INFORMATION PROVIDED IS TRUE, CORRECT AND COMPLETE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.
*Signatures must be original and that of a responsible party. If a general partnership or joint venture, more than one signature is required.
Legal signatures include: sole proprietor-owner, corporate officer, and managing member.

**Signature Responsible Party / Original

Print Name And Title

Date

*+Signature Responsible Party / Original

N =l

Print Name And Title

Date

ORIGINAL SIGNATURES REQUIRED BY AGENCIES—KEEP COPY FOR YOUR RECORDS  App-01.00 Rev 021705

(NSPO 2-06)
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STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING AND REHABILITATION
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY DIVISION
500 E. Third Street
Carson City, Nevada 89713-0030

CONTINUATION SHEET
EMPLOYER'S QUARTERLY LIST OF WAGES PAID

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER

NAME

ADDRESS

FOR QUARTER ENDING

PAGE NUMBER

ENCLOSE THIS FORM WITH THE "EMPLOYER'S QUARTERLY
CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE REPORT" (FORM NUCS-4072)

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

EMPLOYEE'S NAME

TOTAL TIPS REPORTED
THIS QUARTER

TOTAL WAGES (INCLUDING
REPORTED TIPS) THIS QUARTER

Report Not Complete if Social Security Numbers Are Missing

TOTAL TIPS AND TOTAL WAGES THIS PAGE

v
©

NUCS-4073 (REV 9/03)
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STATE OF NEVADA
DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING AND REHABILITATION FOR DIVISION USE ONLY
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY DIVISION
500 E. Third Street - Carson City, Nevada 89713
Telephone (775) 684-6300 Transaction
Fax (775) 684-6351
www.nvdetr.org
Quarter :I:
STATEMENT TO CORRECT
Delinquent | | | | | | |
Corrections for the Calendar Quarter Ending.. Date .........
(Please use a separate form for each quarter being corrected.) )
Reviewed by .......ccooviriiiiiiiien
Emp|oyer Account Number ... ] DAl

INBIME (DBA) ..ottt bbb b bbbt ek h bt £ 4 H b E b h £ £ H R E e E RS E R s e R b bt b bbbt

1. Complete the following section to amend individual wage items previously reported on Employer's Quarterly Contribution

and Wage Report (form NUCS-4072). (If a reimbursable employer, use this form to amend Form NUCS- 4062.)
Employee Social Security Number Name of Employee Wages Previously Reported Correct Amount of Wages
000 00 0000 (Print or Type) Dollars Cents Dollars Cent:
If more spaces are needed, request Form NUCS - 4500. TOTALS

2. Complete the following section to amend wages previously reported in Items 3, 4, or 5 of Employer's Quarterly Contribution
and Wage Report (form NUCS-4072). (If a reimbursable employer, use this section to amend total wages paid this quarter.)

Amounts Previously Reported Amended Difference ONLY

on Quarterly Report Additional Amount Reduced Amount
TOTAL (Item 3) RN B e B s B e
NONTAXABLE (temM 4) $ ....ovvvveerrirrieriierenenns B s B $ s
TAXABLE (Item 5) B s B B e B

CONTRIBUTIONS
Adjustment at Ul Rate ( %) in effect for quarter indicated above ............ B i $ o
Adjustment at CEP Rate of .05 percent (.0005) ..........coceerirerinininensieeeeeereiereeeeeee B e B e
INTEREST

For each month or part of month the payment is late, interest at 1 percent (.01)
of the amount of Ul contributions past due, will also be payable ..................cccoeeee. [

PENALTY INTEREST

Only if original report was not filed timely, at 1/10 percent (.001) X additional
taxable wage amount (see above) for each month from delinquent date to
date original report Was filed ..o e

UNDERPAYMENT .
OVERPAYMENT

3. Please explain the corrections reported above.

( )

Signature Title Telephone Date

NUCS-4075 (Rev. 4/07) (NSPO 5.07) <GB
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EMPLOYER: This notice is to be given to each employee who is laid off or who otherwise leaves your employment.

State of Nevada
Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY DIVISION
500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 89713
Web Site www.nvdetr.org

INFORMATION FOR THE UNEMPLOYED WORKER

Unemployed workers are eligible to receive unemployment benefits under certain
conditions established by law. The Employment Security Division of the
Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation is the agency designated
to determine eligibility and issue checks.

To receive unemployment benefits an unemployed person must:

1. File a claim online or with the Nevada Telephone Claim Center.
2. Be physically able to work.
3. Be available and willing to accept suitable employment if offered.
4. Make a reasonable and sincere effort to find a job.
5. Be unemployed through no fault of your own and meet all other conditions
of the law regarding unemployment benefits.
me r n may not lify for unemployment benefits are:

1. If you quit your last job or next to last job without good cause.

2. If you were discharged from your last job or next to last job for misconduct in
connection with your work.

3. If while receiving unemployment benefits you refuse an offer of suitable work
without good cause.

4. If you give misinformation or withhold information concerning the reason for your
separation from your last job.

5. If you fail to properly report wages earned by you regardless of amount.

To file a claim for unemployment benefits call the
Telephone Claim Center:
In Southern Nevada (702) 486-0350
In Northern Nevada (775) 684-0350
In Rural Nevada call toll-free (888) 890-8211
or
File online @ www.nvdetr.org

NEVADA - An equal opportunity employer/program
]ObC Onnect - Auxiliary aids and services available upon request
T < for individuals with disabilities
‘1 Nevada Department of Employment, - Relay Nevada 711 or (800) 326-6868 (TTY)
Training and Rehabilitation

NUCS-4139 (Rev 12/07)

(NSPO Rev. 2-08)
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EMPLOYER: THIS NOTICE IS TO BE POSTED AT EACH WORK PLACE (NRS 612.455)

State of Nevada
Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY DIVISION

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

The employees of this establishment are protected by Unemployment Insurance. This
employer is required by law to contribute to the Nevada Unemployment
Compensation Fund. No part of the contribution is deducted from the wages of

employees.

If you are separated from your job or if your houts have been substantially reduced, immediately:

« File an unemployment insurance claim, online or by calling the nearest Nevada
Telephone Claim Center, for full or partial unemployment benefits.

« Request employment services from the nearest Nevada JobConnect Career Center or
find employment information online at www.NevadaJobConnect.com. If you are
disabled and require assistance, contact the Nevada JobConnect Career Center prior to

your visit to arrange special accommodations.

Tobe eligihle f ] benefi Joved .

Be physically able to work.

File a claim online or with the Nevada Telephone Claim Center.

Be available and willing to accept suitable employment if offered.

[ N N

Make a reasonable and sincere effort to find a job.

Be unemployed through no fault of your own and meet all other conditions of the
law regarding unemployment benefits.

Reasons an unemployed person may not be eligible for unemployment benefits are:

I

from your job.
5. Failure to properly report wages.

To file a claim for unemployment benefits call the
Telephone Claim Center:
In Southern Nevada call (702) 486-0350
In Northern Nevada call (775) 684-0350
In Rural Nevada call toll-free (888) 890-8211
or

File online at www.nvdetr.otg

NUCS-4324 (Rev 12/07)

Separation from employment due to quitting without good cause.

Being discharged for misconduct in connection with your work.

Refusal of an offer of suitable work without good cause.

Giving misinformation or withholding information about the reason for separation

2SDETR  JobConiaet

Nevada Department of Employment,
Training and Rehabilitation

An equal opportunity employer/program

Auxiliary aids and services available upon request
for individuals with disabilities

Relay Nevada 711 or (800) 326-6868 (TTY)

(NSPO Rev. 2-08)
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State of Nevada
Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation
Employment Security Division
500 E. Third Street, Carson City, NV 89713-0030

(775) 684-6310
ISSUE DATE
APPLICATION FOR TRANSFER OF EXPERIENCE RECORD
1. NEW OWNER INFORMATION Nevada Employer Account number

Business name

Business address

Telephone number ( ) Date new owner acquired business

2. FORMER OWNER INFORMATION Nevada Employer Account number

Business name

Business address

Telephone number ( )
3. How many workers did the former owner have? How many workers does the new owner have?
4, I/We acquired:  (Must select one.)
(A) ALL of the business Skip items 5 and 6 below. GO TO item 7.
(B) PART of the business (If the former owner now has any business in Nevada that he had before the new owner

acquired this business from him, then the new owner acquired only a part of the business.) Complete items 5, 6, and 7
below. NO PARTIAL TRANSFER WILL BE APPROVED IF ITEMS 5 AND 6 ARE NOT COMPLETED.

5. The part of the business I/we acquired was started by the former owner on (date) . A partial transfer may be
completed only if (1) you acquired a “severable and distinct portion” of the business (see reverse side), and (2) you provide
evidence of the acquisition. Attach details regarding: 1) description of the separate location or organization; 2) value of assets
acquired; 3) means of acquisition (sale, merger, repossession); and 4) copy of sales agreement if applicable, etc.

6. The TAXABLE wages for the last three years for that part of the former owner’s business I/we acquired were:
YEAR JAN 1 to MAR 31 APR 1 to JUNE 30 JULY 1 to SEPT 30 OCT 1 to DEC 31
If you cannot get exact figures, you may estimate. Did you estimate above figures? YES NO
7. SIGN AND DATE: [/We hereby make application for transfer of experience record and certify that the above information is

correct to the best of our knowledge and belief.

Date Signature (Owner, General Partner, or Corporate Officer) Title

SIS NI SIS SN IS SN NS SIS S S S S SIS SN SN EE S SN IS SN NN EE NN NN EE SN NN EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEND
TO BE COMPLETED BY FORMER OWNER
Do not sign this form if you desire to retain your experience record.

I/we hereby authorize transfer of the experience record.

Date Signature (Owner, General Partner, or Corporate Officer) Title
(If owner is deceased, please have executor of estate sign)

NO TRANSFER WILL BE APPROVED WITHOUT THE SIGNATURE OF THE FORMER OWNER
IMPORTANT - READ REVERSE SIDE

NUCS-4460 (Rev 11/07) Page 2 of 2
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EMPLOYER: You must complete this form if anyone other than yourself will be acting on your behalf.

State of Nevada
Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation
Employment Security Division, Contributions Section
500 East Third Street, Carson City, NV 89713-0030
Telephone (775) 687-4545
https://uitax.nvdetr.org

POWER OF ATTORNEY
Employer Account Number Federal ID Number
Owner Name
Doing Business As
Address
Telephone Number ( ) Fax ( )

The following agent is authorized to provide and receive information and to perform any and all acts that | can perform as
the employer/taxpayer with respect to any Nevada unemployment compensation matters. In order to access employer
account information online, the FEIN of the authorized agent is required. Begin Authority As Of:

Authorized Agent Federal ID Number
Address
Telephone Number ( ) Fax ( )

This Power of Attorney Authorizes the Above Agent to:

1. Sign for and file quarterly state unemployment insurance tax forms by mail, magnetic media, or electronic filing.
2. Provide, receive, and discuss information, including, but not limited to, experience rates, adjustments to your employer
account, reimbursement in lieu of contributions, and employer’s protest of benefit claims.

Mail Notices to:
TAX NOTICES: (This includes the Employer’s Quarterly Contribution and Wage Reports AND Tax Rate Statements)
Send To: (Choose ONE) [0 Employer/taxpayer address OR [JAuthorized agent named above

BENEFITS NOTICES: (This includes claim notices of former employees AND Benefits Charge Statements)
Send To: (Choose ONE) [0 Employer/taxpayer address OR  Authorized agent named above

Signature of Employer/Taxpayer

| hereby certify that the Nevada Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation, Employment Security Division,
Contributions Section is authorized to release to the above-named authorized agent any and all information in their files
with respect to any unemployment compensation matters. | relieve the Department and their representatives of any
liability related to release of such information to the above-named authorized agent. | understand that this authorization
does not absolve me, as the employer/taxpayer, of the responsibility to ensure that all tax returns are filed and all taxes
paid on time. Any authorization granted remains in effect until revoked, in writing, by the taxpayer or reporting agent.

The person signing must have actual legal authority to bind the business. Persons may include officer of a corporation,
partner, managing member, owner, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Executive Officer, or a fiduciary of a trust or estate.

| certify | have the authority to execute this form and authorize disclosure of otherwise confidential information on behalf of the employer.

Signature (Required)

Title (Required) Date (Required)

NUCS-4556 (Rev 5/06) (NSPO 10-06)
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APPENDIX C

WHO TO CALL

Please provide your Employer Account Number when calling.

Department of Employment, Training & Rehabilitation

Employment Security Division
Contributions Section

Mailing Address: 500 E. Third Street, Carson City, Nevada 89713-0030

General Information
Form Requests
Registration Unit

Is my business subject to the law?

Registering my business

Power of Attorney

Change of address or ownership
Rate Unit

Tax rates

Experiencerating

Transfer of experience record
Employer Accounts Service Unit

Quarterly wage reports

Refunds and adjustments to quarterly wage reports

Delinquent reports and taxes
Collections Unit

Contractor liability and clearance

Legal action

Delinquent taxes
Cashiering Unit

Federal form 940 certification
Magnetic Media Coordinator

Allmatters relating to magnetic mediareporting
Electronic Payment Customer Service Desk

Payments by electronic fund transfer
New Hire Reporting

Fax informationto (775) 684-6379 Toll Free

77

(775) 684-6300
(775) 684-6300
(775)684-6310

(775)684-6328

(775) 684-6300

(775) 684-6300

(775) 684-6340
(775) 684-6385
(775) 684-6345

(775)684-6370
(888)639-7241



Field Audit Offices

Las Vegas fax (702) 486-0276 (702)486-0250
Carson City fax (775) 684-6395 (775) 684-6390
Unemployment Benefits
Eligibility and general information South (702) 486-0350

North (775) 684-0350
Toll Free Statewide & Interstate (888) 890-8211
Rulings Unit Statewide (775) 684-0305
Appeals
Las Vegas fax (702) 486-7949 (702) 486-7933
Reno fax (775) 688-2686 (775) 823-6660
Employment Services—Nevada JobConnect Offices
Carson City (775) 684-0400
Elko (775)753-1900
Ely (775)289-1616
Fallon (775)423-5115
Henderson (702)486-0300
Las Vegas (702)486-0100
Las Vegas (Job Orders—Clark and Nye Counties) (702)486-0129
Las Vegas Casual Labor Office (702)486-3441
North Las Vegas (702)486-0200
Pahrump (775)537-2323
Reno (775)834-1970
Reno Casual Labor Office (775) 688-1240
Sparks (775)336-5400
Winnemucca (775) 623-6520

Labor Market Information
Research and Analysis Bureau Statewide (775) 684-0450

Telecommunications Relay Service
Relay Nevada (TTY/TDD and Voice) 711 or (800) 326-6868

Web Site—http://ui.nv.gov/ess
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