UInv Logo  
  • Important Information: The Tips For Using the New System have been UPDATED.
 
 
  Electronic Filing Required: Effective July 1, 2018, new regulation was enacted that requires employers in Nevada to file all quarterly wage and tax reports electronically. For additional information pertaining to the electronic filing regulation and requirements, contact the Employer Account Service Unit at (866) 429-9757. Compliance with the regulation is mandatory for all employers in Nevada. A request for a waiver may be submitted. An approved waiver will be valid for up to a one-calendar year period, and is at the discretion of the Administrator upon establishment of good cause. The E-File Waiver Request Form and Instructions can be downloaded at http://ui.nv.gov/PDFS/E-File_Waiver_Request_Form.pdf or found above under I want to: by selecting Download forms for employers. Instruction for on-line report filing can be found above under Help and Resources by selecting the Tips for Using the New System link.
  IMPORTANT NOTE: Before making a UI tax payment by ACH Debit for the first time, the ACH Debit Authorization Request form must be completed and faxed to (775) 684-6351 for approval. The form can be downloaded at http://ui.nv.gov/PDFS/RPT7011.pdf. The Authorization request forms must be returned two weeks before the anticipated first payment date.
   
Popup Blocker Requirements To use the ESS website, please disable your browser's popup blocker.
  The Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation offices and call centers are closed for all Federal and State holidays with the exception of Columbus Day
  Due to regularly scheduled system maintenance, the Division’s computer system may at times be unavailable Wednesdays from approximately 5:00pm to 7:30pm, and Saturdays with varied outage times based on business need.
What is Misclassification? Worker misclassification occurs when an employer incorrectly classifies a worker as a non-employee. Consequently, employers do not remit the appropriate amount of Federal and state employment taxes, and workers may not receive unemployment insurance benefits or the appropriate protections afforded to them as employees under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Misclassifications can result from erroneous interpretation of the rules or from intentional disregard of the law. For assistance in correctly classifying a worker contact Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation Contributions Office at 775-684-6300.
 
Professional Employer Organizations (PEO): NRS 616B.691(1) has been amended to deem the client company of an employee leasing company to be the employer of the employees it leases for the purposes of chapter 612 of NRS pertaining to unemployment compensation. As such, it will now be necessary for the client companies of an employee leasing company to register for unemployment insurance (UI). The client company will now have primary responsibility as the employer for submitting required quarterly UI tax and wage reports, payment of UI tax and bond contributions, and respond to notices from the Employment Security Division. The law change becomes effective October 1, 2015 making the Q4-2015 quarter the first quarter of liability for UI taxes if paying wages in the amount of $225 or more during that quarter. Registration for UI should occur within 30 days after reaching the $225 threshold. Q4-2015 quarterly reporting is due on February 1, 2016. Late reporting and payments result in late fees that can be avoided if you file on time. Registration is best done online through ESS by clicking here.